Insights, tools and research to advance journalism

High Five 2012: The integrated language arts and journalism curriculum

The NAA Foundation, with support from the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, developed High Five in an effort to address concerns about student achievement.

High Five provides an integrated, three-unit curriculum that includes reading, writing, journalism, grammar, linguistics and visual literacy. All materials are age-appropriate for middle-school students. The curriculum uses the daily newspaper as a textbook and information source.

High Five places special emphasis on schools with students who are majority-minority, low-income and/or primarily conversant in a language other than English. Further, it expands the reach of student newspapers, found most often in high schools, into middle schools.

Each unit, aligned to Common Core State Standards, is designed to be used as a stand-alone piece. However, the power of the curriculum lies in interrelated concepts presented in the individual units.

Download the units

A shorter version

Our Introductory News Literacy curriculum is an updated and condensed version of High Five. It uses some of the same material, but each the three units take only a week or two of class time to complete.

Need to Know newsletter

The smart way to start your day

Each morning we scour the web for fresh useful insights in our Need to Know newsletter. Sign up below.

Featured topics

Go deeper on…

Dive deep on everything we produce about these key topics.

Strategy Studies

The best practices for innovation within news organizations

This Strategy Study presents examples and insights about journalism innovation, offering actionable advice and methods to move your journalism and business forward.